XC70 2016 Wheels and Tires Recommendation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• XC70 2016 Wheels and Tires Recommendation

I'm new to the ipd forums and this is my first post requesting assistance... I live in New York and I own a 2016 XC70 AWD T5 2.5L that currently has 36K miles on it. I enjoy the outdoors (...hiking, backpacking, camping, skiing, kayaking, mountain biking) so I'm always loading up my car with gear. Previously I owned two Nissan XTerra 4WDs which I loved because I could get through any kind of terrain and weather without any concerns, but the reality is that I am 5'1" so the XC70 is more practical for me to load and unload and it's my only vehicle so I use it to drive to/from work. My only gripe with the car is that the stock tires (235/50 R18 97V Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Weather Run-Flats) are not great in winter and it seems I often have to fill them up because they run low on air when temperatures change. I bought a Viair portable compressor, so filling up is no longer that big of a deal but I need to replace them anyway because one tire is bulging and they've developed cracks. Having said that, I'm looking to upgrade my car to something more off-road worthy (I love ipd's XC70R All Terrain!) so I'm looking for recommendations on wheels & tires upgrades from the forum community. Here's what I'm hoping to achieve, it's complicated (to me) so please bear with me:
    1) Buy a full size spare (wheel and tire - stock is a "doughnut" basically and if I'm on a remote dirt or snowy road I'll be more comfortable with a full size spare)
    2) I need new (better) tires now, but I'm not planning on lifting the car and upgrading the suspension just yet